Dr. Siddhartha Sankar Dash


Dementia is not a specific disease but it is an overall term that describes a group of symptoms associated in memory loss or other thinking skills severe enough to reduce a person’s ability to perform everyday activities. Alzheimer’s disease, Vascular dementia, which occurs after a stroke, is the second most common dementia type. But there are many other conditions that can cause symptoms of dementia, including thyroid problems and vitamin deficiencies. People with dementia may have problems with short-term memory, remembering appointments or traveling out of the neighborhood.

What Are the Seven Stages of Dementia?

  • Stage 1 (No cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 2 (Very mild cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 3 (Mild cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 4 (Moderate cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 5 (Moderately severe cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 6 (Severe cognitive decline)
  •  Stage 7 (Very severe cognitive decline)